mild Wednesday

Public domain book lists are a treasure trove of good reading.  From well-known authors such as Agatha Christie and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle to authors you may not have ever encountered, PD books are a great and FREE way to expand your to-be-read list.  Today I have some of my PD favorites that you really “Otter” be reading!!  They are all available on the Gutenberg.org website.

threemen boat

Three Men in a Boat by Jerome K. Jerome

HILARIOUS!  Three young men take a boating holiday on the Thames with Montmorency the dog.  This is a classic comic novel that will have you laughing out loud; it’s one of my favorite books.

 

sherman

Memoirs of Gen. William T. Sherman-Volume 1 by General William T. (Tecumseh) Sherman

General Sherman and his infamous march through Georgia are familiar to anyone with an interest in American/Civil War history.  Volume 1 of his memoirs is his account of his early life and military career. There are some really interesting bits about Florida & California, first hand accounts from his time in those areas.  It is a bit of a slog but if you stick with it, I think you might find it fascinating; I certainly did!

 

mcclures

McClure’s Magazine, Vol 1., No. 1, June 1893

I tried to find a photo of the cover of a McClure’s Magazine but somehow the photos are NOT in the Public Domain, and that is why intellectual property law gives me migraines!  But it’s a nice little Bon Ami ad that appeared in McClure’s so there you go.

McClure’s has several issues on the Gutenberg.org site including one from June 1893 that has a very nice write up on Thomas Edison.  Yes, THAT, Edison!  The second part of the article is an interview with Alexander Graham Bell-yep, HIM!

What I most want to give you is the realization that, while new shiny books are great, there is a world of publications out there.  I buy more books than my budget allows 🙂 but I also enjoy sitting down with an old book and immersing myself in that bit of the world.  Maybe history buffs will be more excited about PD books but I honestly think there is a PD book for every taste.

Join us tomorrow when the KIDS take over for a Throwback Thursday look at new books available from the elementary school book sale flyer-remember those?  In the meantime, enjoy your search for an interesting PD book that you “Otter” be reading!!

13 thoughts on “mild Wednesday

  1. Life With Lorelai August 28, 2014 at 5:39 am Reply

    Public Domain is a great way to add to your reading. And I love vintage ads. 🙂

    ~Lorelai
    Life With Lorelai

    Like

    • chriskeen August 28, 2014 at 2:24 pm Reply

      LOL I was on the Google image search for WAY longer than I should have been just scrolling through old ads trying to find something to use for my post!! If I was crafty 😉 I would print out some of the free use ones and do a decoupage project or maybe a poster thing for the kids’ rooms.

      Like

      • Life With Lorelai August 28, 2014 at 3:06 pm

        I fell in love with them when my son had a 1920’s magazine school project. I could have still been “researching” if I didn’t have to drive carpool ! 😀

        Like

      • chriskeen August 28, 2014 at 10:47 pm

        Oh, I know-my kids hate to show me their school projects because I get SO into them and totally take over. I always find so many interesting little things they could add but, alas, they want to ‘stick to the project parameters and focus, Mom’! Sometimes I wonder who these children are!!

        Like

      • Life With Lorelai August 28, 2014 at 11:41 pm

        LOL ,,, I know, sometimes it’s tough because it’s so interesting. 😀

        Like

  2. Kristen from The Road to Domestication August 28, 2014 at 1:08 pm Reply

    WOW! I had no idea that there was such a thing as public domain books! Thanks for this post!

    Like

    • chriskeen August 28, 2014 at 2:21 pm Reply

      I was looking for a specific book from the 1800’s and somehow stumbled upon Gutenberg.org. My reading list exploded! SO many great books just waiting for readers to discover them!!

      Like

  3. sryanmliw August 28, 2014 at 6:18 pm Reply

    I will never, ever be done reading. I have 3 books I’m working through now and you just added! Yikes! I love PD books too. One of my favorite books is one written in 1920 that I found for free. It was a murder mystery.

    Like

    • chriskeen August 28, 2014 at 10:51 pm Reply

      Those old mystery books are wonderful. I love the formal writing style and all the old-fashioned words we don’t use anymore. The best part is when you use them in conversation and nobody knows what the heck you’re talking about!!

      Like

      • sryanmliw August 29, 2014 at 11:44 am

        GUILTY! I was the kid who read the thesaurus for fun. People constantly ask me what words I use mean.

        Like

      • chriskeen August 29, 2014 at 3:15 pm

        I had a teacher in junior high that had a HUGE dictionary in the back of the room on its own bookstand. I loved to go back there and flip through the pages, until she caught on that I didn’t need to look up anything in particular I was just noodling around learning stuff!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Sahana August 29, 2014 at 12:42 pm Reply

    Eventhough I am not much into reading books, It is great to look at your collection of books 🙂

    Like

    • chriskeen August 29, 2014 at 3:09 pm Reply

      I hope you find something here that will catch your interest and get you reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Vanessa Fernandez Fitness

mom of three / fitness coach / business mentor

A Day In Our Shoes

IEP support, resources and more from a Special Needs mom and advocate.

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

Mytwosentences

Thoughts and Observations from Edward Roads

Vonj Productions

Bringing you love through spirit!

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

pipafineart.wordpress.com/

Helpful articles to improve your own nature and landscape photography explorations. You will also see stunning landscape and nature photographs created by award winning landscape and nature photographer Melissa Fague.

Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book

Book Reviews, Recommendations & Random Thoughts - Giveaways too!

Big Red Carpet Nursing

Fun & Progress!

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Book Sense

The Only Sense We Have

Ashleys Paranormal Book Blog

Paranormal Romance, Dystopian, Fantasy, Horror and more!

Where Connor and JT Go

Destination- Everywhere!

Girl of 1000 Wonders

new adventures await you...just a page away

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

The Nerd Nebula

The Nucleus of the Universe for all Nerd Hacks!

hocuspocus13

Magickal Arts

