Category Archives: MONDAY

Cozy Mystery Monday

Welcome to Cozy Mystery Monday!! There are so many books coming out all the time, it’s easy to miss something good.  So, instead of pounding out more NEW NEW NEW books, this week I thought we should revisit some cozies you don’t want to miss.

 

Number 10 in the Zoe Donovan series has been released.  I was given a copy by the AWESOME author, Kathi Daley, and I am now elbow deep in the antics of Zoe and a bachelor auction and a ‘cat lady’ and a murder!!!!  This is one of the best cozy series out there-the characters are so well written and ‘real’, the mysteries are interesting and there are dogs & cats!!  You cannot resist this book!!

 

Bless Her Dead Little Heart by Miranda James

Oh, my!!  Get your pre-orders in!!!  Bless Her Dead Little Heart comes out TOMORROW!!!  This is the first in a new series and it is popping up all over the internet.  It seems like all the cozy bloggers are going crazy for this book.  The plot is two sisters are cat sitting when their old sorority sister shows up and is then murdered!  Need more?  There is also a family & a will!!  We’ve read enough cozies to know where this is going and I can hardly stand to wait to get started reading!!

 

Groomed For Murder (Pet Boutique #2)

Groomed for Murder by Annie Knox

 

Nightmares Can Be Murder

Nightmares Can Be Murder by Mary Kennedy

Groomed for Murder and Nightmares Can Be Murder were released last month and they have 22 5-star reviews on Amazon!!  Everyone is talking about these books and how good they are-plots, characters and the various mysteries to be solved.  Don’t let great books get lost in the shuffle!!  These are all super good cozies that you “OTTER” be reading!!

 

Cozy Mystery Monday

OOOH!!! Some great new Cozy Mystery books this week. You “OTTER” be reading these!!!

Stirring The Plot by Daryl Wood Gerber

This is the 3rd in the Cookbook Nook series. I’m still 4th in line at the library for the first book in this series so it will be a while before I get to read this one. It looks SO good!! Jenna moves back home to open the Cookbook Nook and of course cozy mystery ‘stuff’ starts to happen! This is being released tomorrow 9/30.

 

 

Death Is Like a Box Of Chocolates by Kathy Aarons

I am seeing this book EVERYWHERE! Every blog, every newsletter, some serious buzz is being generated for this book. It was released 9/2 and is the debut novel for author Kathy Aarons. The plot is super: Michelle & Erica are best friends who open a Bookstore/Chocolate shop-can there be anything more perfect 😉 Things go awry as they usually do in cozies and a local photographer is dead of possible CANDY poisoning!! OH, NO!! Whatever will our heroines do? Why, solve the mystery of course! It will no doubt be wrapped up before they lose their store and ruin the Memorial Day Arts Festival. I’ve put this at the top of my to-read list.

These Haunts Are Made For Walking by Rose Pressey

A librarian by day and ghost tour guide by night-what a combination! Ripley (Rip) discovers a dead body, then a ghost who communicates via text messaging. Add in a cute cop who is also a ghost hunter and you have another great Rose Pressey book; the first in a new series. It was just released on 9/22 and has all 5-star reviews on Amazon. Pressey is always an enjoyable read with quirky characters in zany situations. Another top of the pile book!

 

Caught Dead Handed by Carol J. Perry

Another cozy/paranormal mix. Lee returns to Salem, Massachusetts to interview for a TV reporter job. When the call-in psychic for the late horror movie show is murdered, Lee takes the job. Is she becoming psychic for real? What is she really seeing in her crystal ball? Will she solve the murder? There is a cat on the book cover so I’m already a fan of the series before I even read it!!

 

Two new cozies and two new cozy/paranormal for this week.  They are all at the top of my to-read list, I need to study some physics or at least watch more episodes of the Big Bang Theory-maybe Sheldon could explain how ALL my books are #1 on my list!!

Monday is Mixed Up!

Something new this week instead of our usual Cozy Mystery Monday post.  Here is what’s new: when you start a blog, you quickly find out it’s not all book reviews & rainbows.  There is a biiiiiig learning curve of ‘stuff’ to figure out just to get started.  I learn something new every day because I found out bloggers also have to join a surprising number of groups dedicated to helping people learn to blog!  Bloggers teach each other how to do the behind the scenes mechanics of blogging like making things line up ‘right’ and pretty borders & fonts etc, etc.

Why this is good for you, dear reader 😉 is because in one of these lovely groups is a blogger who, at no charge to anyone!!, compiles a weekly list of books being reviewed on a bunch of blogs!!  All in one place, just click a link and whammo, there you are reading a great book review!

Some of these books are way outside what I normally read,/review & recommend. Some may even be steamy (!), but that’s ok. Take a look, pass on anything that is too far outside your comfort zone and read on!! It never hurts to see what other folks are reading-maybe we will find some new genre that is perfect for us. If you never look around, you might never see. Ooh, now that’s a great motto, I “Otter” write that down!

resdthisheader

Welcome to Read This, a collection of book reviews and giveaways that were posted in the past week or so from around the web. This is a collection of book reviews & contests from real reviewers. If you want to be included in the next edition start with the guidelines, then use the submission form.Want to read more reviews? Check out Read This for a list of the latest reviews and stellar reviewers. You can also follow on twitter for the latest round ups.


CONTESTS


NON-FICTION

-HUMOR

-SELF-HELP


FICTION


YOUNG ADULT

-THRILLER


NEW ADULT

 

-COMING OF AGE


ROMANCE

-CONTEMPORARY

-M/M CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE

-ROMANTIC COMEDY


EROTICA


THRILLER


PARANORMAL

 


FANTASY


300x200readthis

 

Cozy Mystery Monday

Oh, dreary Monday is here again. There is nothing dreary about these great new cozy mysteries being released soon. All of them are part of a series and should be on your “Otter” read list!!


Double Strike by Gwen Archer

Book 3 of the hilarious Davis Way series. Super funny and perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich. Davis is a sort of spy for a casino. She used to be a cop so there isn’t as much ineptitude as you would think but there is still quite a bit of slapstick and wild predicaments. Oh, and her family is nuts! Lots of fun stuff happens in the series and Archer gives tons of behind the scenes casino details. I really like this series! Release day is October 21st.


Turkeys, Tuxes and Tabbies by Kathi Daley

Zoe Donovan is at it again in book 10! Another great series that just keeps getting better and better. This one has a bachelor auction and a dead “cat lady”!! That’s all I need to know-I’m ready to read!! Releases on October 1st.


A Plain Malice by Amanda Flower

Amanda Flower wrote one of my boys’ favorite books: Andi Unexpected. We all read it and it was so good that when I found out this book was coming out I couldn’t wait to read it. Then I realized it’s #4 in the Appleseed Creek series!! Oops, I haven’t been paying attention-there are three other Amish mysteries out with the same characters. This book deals with an old-fashioned milking demonstration on an Amish family dairy farm that leads to death and some good old fashioned undercover investigation. From what I’ve read about the series it’s pretty wholesome and Christian so I need to get these on my to-read pile right away! A Plain Malice will be released on September 16th.

 

Three new books in great cozy mystery series you really “Otter” be reading!!

Vanessa Fernandez Fitness

mom of four / fitness coach / business mentor

A Day In Our Shoes

IEP support, resources and more from a Special Needs mom and advocate.

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

Mytwosentences

Thoughts and Observations from Edward Roads

Vonj Productions

Bringing you love through spirit!

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

pipafineart.wordpress.com/

Helpful articles to improve your own nature and landscape photography explorations. You will also see stunning landscape and nature photographs created by award winning landscape and nature photographer Melissa Fague.

Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book

Book Reviews, Recommendations & Random Thoughts - Giveaways too!

Big Red Carpet Nursing

Fun & Progress!

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Book Sense

The Only Sense We Have

Ashleys Paranormal Book Blog

Paranormal Romance, Dystopian, Fantasy, Horror and more!

Where Connor and JT Go

Destination- Everywhere!

Girl of 1000 Wonders

new adventures await you...just a page away

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

The Nerd Nebula

The Nucleus of the Universe for all Nerd Hacks!

hocuspocus13

Magickal Arts

%d bloggers like this: